Malaysia’s major cities back under lockdown

Kuala lumpur skyline, Malaysia

The populous regions of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Selangor and Sabah will be placed under conditional movement control order (CMCO) again until October 27, said Malaysian senior minister for security, Ismail Sabri Yaakob on Monday.

With the exception of Sabah state, which will enter lockdown at midnight today, the other three regions will begin CMCO at midnight on October 14.

Conditional movement control order has been reimposed on Kuala Lumpur (pictured), Putrajaya, Selangor and Sabah

The move was deemed necessary to “prevent further spreading of the infection”, said the minister.

Malaysia recorded 691 new Covid-19 infections on October 6, in what was said to be a new high for the country, according to The Straits Times. On October 12, there were 16,220 cumulative cases, with 5,039 active cases.

The country is currently in recovery MCO, which allows the reopening of most businesses and resumption of social activities. This stage follows the conclusion of the country’s CMCO on June 10.

The Selangor state government has called the decision “shocking” and has asked the National Security Council to reconsider its decision.

The latest movement restrictions will impact some 7.6 million residents in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Selangor, and 3.5 million in Sabah.

Ismail Sabri said that with the latest CMCO, social activities and cross-district travels will be prohibited, although economic activities will be allowed. As well, only two individuals are allowed to leave a house at a time.

Sponsored Post