India introduces free e-visa for Indonesians

The Indian tourism ministry will continue to have offices in the US, Germany, the UK, Dubai, Russia, China and Singapore

India has rolled out free e-visas for Indonesians since June 18, the Indian Embassy in Jakarta says on its website.

This announcement follows Indian prime minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Indonesia last month to commemorate 70 years of bilateral relations between both countries, with tourism expected to be a beneficiary resulting from the event.

60-day e-visas now available to Indonesians visiting India

Indonesians may now apply for tourist, business or medical e-visas through the website. Valid for 60 days from the arrival date, the e-tourist and e-business visas offer double entry, while the e-Medical allow for triple entry.

Visitors are required to have passports valid for at least six months from the date of arrival in India, and have either return or onward tickets to another destination.

Among the 25 airports and seaports that Indonesians can enter using e-visas are Jaipur, Kolkata, Delhi, Goa and Mumbai.

Sponsored Post