WTTC calls for entries for Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2017


THE World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) is calling all travel and tourism businesses to present their sustainable initiatives for the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2017.

This 28th edition of the annual awards will feature five categories for applicants, namely Community; Destination; Environment; Innovation; and People.

“Through the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2017 we shall highlight the commitment of the travel and tourism sector to the Sustainable Development Goals adopted by all 193 member states of the United Nations in September 2015,” said David Scowsill, president and CEO, WTTC.

“Companies and organisations that enter for these awards can show governments and other tourism organisations how growth and successful business models go hand in hand with the safeguarding of local communities, the environment and cultural heritage.”

Fiona Jeffery OBE, former chairman of World Travel Market and founder and chairman of the international water aid charity Just a Drop, will be chairing the awards for the third time.

Graham Miller, chair in sustainability in business at the University of Surrey, will oversee an independent judging and on-site evaluation process carried out by an international panel of experts representing academia, non-profit organisations, government and the private sector.

The finalists will be announced in January 2017 and the winners will be awarded during the WTTC Global Summit 2017 in Bangkok, held from April 26-27, 2017.

Applications can be submitted online. Entries close on November 14, 2016.

Sponsored Post