Malaysia to impose fresh MCO on six Selangor districts

The Malaysian government will place six districts in Selangor under the movement control order (MCO) for 12 days from Thursday (May 6), as the country continues to battle a surge in Covid-19 cases.

The six districts are Hulu Langat, Petaling, Gombak, Klang, Kuala Langat and Sepang. The remaining three districts in the state – Kuala Selangor, Sabak Bernam and Hulu Selangor – are unaffected and will continue to be under the conditional MCO.

Six out of nine districts in Selangor to be placed under MCO ahead of this month’s Hari Raya Aidilfitri; a Ramadan bazaar in Selangor pictured 

While interstate travel has been banned nationwide including in Selangor ever since MCO 2.0 was announced in January, under the new restrictions, residents in the six districts placed under MCO will also not be allowed to travel inter-district, except for emergencies and work. Dining in and social activities will also not be permitted.

For the upcoming Hari Raya celebrations, households are allowed to receive guests only on the first day, capped at 15 visitors per house at a time to enable physical distancing.

According to senior minister (security cluster), Ismail Sabri Yaakob, the government will soon make an announcement on whether to reinstate the work from home policy in Selangor.

Ahmad Nazri Tashriq, corporate communications manager at Tourism Selangor, shared that in light of the MCO announcement, efforts to promote the state will be halted until restrictions are lifted.

Last month, Tourism Selangor and Malaysian Inbound Tourism Association (MITA) held a joint workshop to introduce new products that the state had to offer, and guide MITA travel agent members on how to weave these products into their itineraries.

Sponsored Post