Japan expands entry ban to 18 more nations

People walking along and taking pictures of Sakura in Chidorigafuchi Park in Tokyo. People are wearing face masks during the coronavirus outbreaking.

Japan will add another 18 countries to its growing entry ban list, bringing the total number of affected nations and regions to 129, as part of the country’s measures to stem the spread of Covid-19.

Starting July 1, Japan will deny entry to foreign nationals arriving from Algeria, Cuba, Iraq, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Costa Rica, Eswatini, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Lebanon, Mauritania, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Senegal.

Japan has strict border control measures in place to stem virus spread; visitors wearing face masks strolling through Chidorigafuchi Park in Tokyo amid the pandemic pictured

Japan will also extend the suspension of visa issuance in the listed countries and regions until the end of July, said the Foreign Ministry.

The country has lifted the state of emergency imposed to curb the virus spread, but remains cautious about a second wave of infections. Already, the city in Fukuoka Prefecture is in the grips of a second wave.

Meanwhile, the government is contemplating loosening travel restrictions on countries that have successfully contained the coronavirus. Last week, a chartered flight carrying business travellers took off from Japan to Vietnam, marking the resumption of travel between the two countries.

Sponsored Post