Singapore bars visitors from South Korea’s Cheongdo, Daegu

Travellers from Cheongdo county and Daegu city in South Korea will not be allowed to set foot in Singapore, a decision the city-state has made in light of the growing number of Covid-19 cases in these areas.

Returning Singapore citizens, permanent residents and long-term pass holders with a travel history to Cheongdo and Daegu within the last 14 days will be issued a stay-home notice to serve a 14-day quarantine, said national development minister Lawrence Wong, who co-chairs a multi-ministry task force tackling the coronavirus with health minister Gan Kim Yong, reported The Straits Times (ST).

Singapore bans visitors from Cheongdo and Daegu in South Korea

Singapore’s move follows Hong Kong’s decision this week to ban non-resident arrivals from South Korea and to quarantine returning Hong Kong residents.

South Korea has raised its virus alert to the highest red, as the number of confirmed cases rose to 977, with a death toll of 10. In light of this, Gan was quoted by the report as saying that “visitors and returning travellers pose a heightened risk”.

Gan also sounded the alert that given the surge in the number of Covid-19 cases worldwide, Singapore can expect to see the number of cases rise due to “the risk of importation”.

On February 22, the Ministry of Health advised travellers to avoid non-essential travel to Daegu and Cheongdo, and to take precautions when travelling to the rest of South Korea.

Sponsored Post