India tightens border rules for some countries over Omicron concerns

India has reimposed Covid-19 restrictions for international travellers arriving from “at-risk” nations including Singapore from Wednesday (December 1), due to concerns over the Omicron coronavirus variant.

According to the health ministry, the countries categorised as “at-risk” are the European countries including the UK, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel.

India among several countries to reimpose travel restrictions following the Omicron variant outbreak

Under the latest guidelines, travellers arriving from these countries are required to submit a self-declaration form and their travel history for the previous 14 days, as well as a negative PCR test result taken 72 hours prior to departure, on the Air Suvidha portal before their journey.

Travellers from “at-risk” countries will also need to take a Covid-19 PCR test upon arrival at the airport, and will have to wait for the result.

Those who test negative will have to undergo home quarantine for seven days and then self-monitor for another seven days, in addition to a test on the eighth day of arrival.

All positive samples will be sent for genome sequencing at designated INSACOG labs to identify the variant, and passengers will be admitted into isolation facilities.

Sponsored Post