Indonesia scraps on-arrival PCR tests, expands visa-free facility

Fully vaccinated international travellers to Indonesia no longer need to complete a PCR test on arrival from April 6, while visa-free entry has been expanded to all travellers from ASEAN countries.

According to a circular from Indonesia’s Covid-19 Task Force, fully vaccinated international travellers will only need to show a negative PCR test taken up to 48 hours before flight.

Fully vaccinated international travellers to Indonesia no longer need to complete a PCR test on arrival

Travellers will undergo a body temperature and Covid-19 symptoms check at the airport. Those with symptoms or an elevated body temperature of 37.5*C or more must take a PCR test and wait for their result at their hotel. Should a positive result show, travellers must isolate at a hotel or other facilities appointed by the government, while those with severe symptoms must be treated at appointed hospitals.

Travellers with one dose of vaccine must undergo a five-day quarantine at a certified hotel, while those with comorbidity diseases must show a medical statement.

Unvaccinated travellers under 18 years old – a change from the previous 12 year old limit – may enter when travelling with parents who meet Indonesia’s health requirements

The other requirements remain the same.

In another change to Indonesia’s entry policy, visa-free entry is now offered to travellers from ASEAN countries. Previously, the facility was only available to Singapore citizens and ASEAN member country passport holders with Singapore permanent residency.

The Indonesia Directorate General of Immigration has also added Timor Leste to the list of nationalities eligible for visa on arrival (VoA) facility, which now totals 43 countries.

The requirements for both visa-free and VoA remain the same, although the number of entry points has expanded. Previously, visa-free entry for ASEAN nationals was only available in Batam and Bintan while VoA entry was only possible via Bali. From April 6, the airports of Jakarta, Medan, Surabaya, Makassar, Manado and Yogyakarta, as well as the seaports of Batam and Bintan, are valid.

Sponsored Post