Indonesia to suspend visa-free policy, expands ban

The Indonesian government has suspended the visa exemption policy for a short-stay visit, visa on arrival, and diplomatic/service visa-free facilities for all countries for a period of one month, starting March 20, to further curb the spread of Covid-19.

In addition, the government has denied entry or transit in Indonesia for visitors who have travelled to Iran, Italy, Vatican, Spain, France, Germany, Switzerland and UK in the last 14 days. Earlier measures taken for visitors from China, and South Korea’s Daegu city and Gyeongsang province remain in effect.

Indonesia to suspend visa-free and visa-on-arrival policies for one month

Retno Marsudi, Indonesia’s minister of foreign affairs, announced yesterday: “All foreigners/ travellers who wish to visit Indonesia must obtain a visa from Indonesian missions in accordance with the purpose of their visit. Upon permission, applicants must provide a health certificate issued by relevant health authorities in their respective countries.”

Upon arrival at an Indonesian airport, all visitors must complete and submit a Health Alert Card to the Port Health Authority.

“Should the travel history indicate that the person has travelled to the countries above in the last 14 days, such a person may be refused entry to Indonesia. For Indonesian citizens who have travelled to the countries above, additional screening shall be carried out by the Port Health Authority upon arrival.”

A 14-day observation in a government facility will be applied if the additional screening shows initial symptoms of Covid-19, otherwise, returning Indonesians are strongly recommended to have 14-day self-quarantine.

Travellers holding a Short Visit Pass which may have expired and who are already in Indonesia may request for an extension.

Sponsored Post