Singapore, NZ bring in reciprocal automated immigration checks for travellers

Automated immigration check in New Zealand (photo credit: Facebook/ NZCustoms)

Starting today, Singaporeans and New Zealanders will be able to utilise the automated immigration facilities when travelling to each other’s country.

This was announced by the Singapore’s Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) yesterday on February 11.

Automated immigration check in New Zealand (photo credit: Facebook/ NZCustoms)

Eligible Singaporeans will be able to use New Zealand’s eGate passport control facility, if they are 12 years old and above and hold an ePassport. Automated eGates are available at Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Queenstown airports, according to the New Zealand customs service website.

Similarly, holders of New Zealand passports aged six and above, with more than six months’ validity will be eligible to apply for Singapore’s Frequent Traveller Programme (FTP). Applicants must have visited Singapore at least twice in the past two years to be eligible to apply for the FTP. The programme allows eligible travellers to clear immigration via automated clearance facilities.

Those interested can apply for the FTP at the enrolment centres located at Terminal 3 Changi Airport, the visitor services centre at the ICA Building, as well as at Woodlands and Tuas checkpoints. Enrolment in Singapore’s FTP is voluntary and free for New Zealand nationals.

The mutual extension of such automated immigration clearance facilities comes as part of the Singapore-New Zealand Enhanced Partnership, which is aimed at boosting trade, business and tourism links between the two countries.

Sponsored Post