Chengdu to offer 72-hour visa-free transits

VISITORS from some 45 countries will be able to make 72-hour visa-free transits in Chengdu, as long as they have a third country visa and valid air ticket.

According to China Daily, Chengdu becomes the fourth Chinese city to implement such a scheme, which has already taken root in Beijing, Shanghai (TTG Asia e-Daily, July 27, 2012) and Guangzhou.

It has not yet been announced when the policy will take effect.

Citizens of the following countries will be eligible for the scheme: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates and Qatar.

Sponsored Post