ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards now open for entries

Awardees in the first ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards

ASEAN is calling for entries for its second sustainable tourism awards.

The biennial ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards (ASTA) is returning for the second time next year, after 17 tour operators were recognised during the inaugural edition last year.

Awardees in the first ASEAN Sustainable Tourism Awards

In the second ASTA, 20 sustainable tourism winners will be recognised. There will be two winners per ASEAN member state, one in the rural category and the other in the urban category.

All 20 will be rewarded with exposure on the websites of their respective NTOs and be recognised as a best practice operator during press conferences and tradeshows such as ASEAN Tourism Forum (ATF) TRAVEX, ITB and WTM.

In addition, winners will be highlighted on ASEAN’s website, and recognised during the awards ceremony, set to take place during the ATF in Brunei in January 2020.

Sounh Manivong, director general of tourism marketing department, Laos’ Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism, said the awards are aimed at boosting the profile and importance of sustainable tourism businesses in Southeast Asia, promoting responsible tourism in all ASEAN countries, combating seasonality, rebalancing tourist flows, promoting best practice, among other objectives.

The deadline for submissions of award entrees is October 30, 2019, and results will be announced in early December.

Sponsored Post