India extends VOA to Indonesia and Myanmar

INDIA extended its visa-on-arrival (VOA) scheme on Tuesday to citizens of Indonesia and Myanmar.

The VOA scheme, first introduced in January last year (TTG Asia e-Daily, January 8, 2010) to promote tourism to the country, is also available to citizens from Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and the Philippines.

The single-entry VOA facility, available in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports, costs US$60 per person and is valid for a maximum of 30 days.

Qualified tourists can avail of the VOA a maximum of two times in a calendar year, with a minimum gap of two months between each visit. It is non-extendable and non-convertible.

A total of 6,569 tourists had used the facility between introduction and December 2010.

By Anand & Madhura Katti

Sponsored Post